Transforming the World

through Mathematics

Guest Faculty

MATH+ (Distinguished) Visiting Scholars

The MATH+ Visiting Scholarship Program aims to enhance the international profile of MATH+ by providing support for longer visits by outstanding scientists and scholars from around the world. The program primarily aims to invite researchers whose expertise can promote specific areas of mathematical excellence in Berlin. This includes both early career researchers (MATH+ Visiting Scholars) and senior researchers (MATH+ Distinguished Visiting Scholars). In general, it is intended that MATH+ (Distinguished) Visiting Scholars will visit Berlin for a period of several months (usually 1-6 months) to work on joint projects with colleagues from MATH+ and be available for discussions with junior researchers and BMS students. In particular, they are expected to offer, for example, a course, seminar, or block course, possibly within the frame of a summer school.


Distinguished Visiting Scholars Visiting Scholars

Annette Werner (Goethe University Frankfurt), 2024
Michael Krivelevich (Tel Aviv University), 2024
José Verschae (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile), 2023/24
Claude LeBris (École des Ponts ParisTech (ENPC)), 2022/23

Thomas McCormick (UBC), 2022

Alexander Govorov (U Ohio), 2021/22

Rolf Krause (U Lugano), 2020

Vijay Natarajan (Indian Institute of Science), 2023/24
Alex Blumenthal (Georgia Institute of Technology), 2023

Omid Amini (CNRS), 2022/23


Einstein Visiting Fellows

MATH+ has been granted funding for visiting fellows by the Einstein Foundation Berlin. The following professors have been selected as “Einstein Visiting Fellows”:

Robert Weismantel (ETH Zurich)
John Henry Maddocks (EPFL)


Former “Einstein Visiting Fellows” include:
Bernd Sturmfels (MPIM Leipzig & UC Berkeley)
Rahul Pandharipande (ETH Zurich)
Felipe Cucker (City U Hong Kong)
Vasudevan Srinivas (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Francisco Santos (Universidad de Cantabria, Santander)
Christopher Beattie (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
James Sethian (UC Berkeley)
Wendelin Werner (U Paris Sud, Orsay)

Former BMS Professors

The BMS professorship was offered to guest lecturers with high international visibility. During their stay the BMS professors gave the BMS semester lectures, a distinguished course in their research area.


Alessandro Verra (Università Roma Tre)
Alejandro Ramirez (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)
Mario Arioli (former member of STFC, Oxfordshire)
Thomas Banchoff
(Brown University)
Igor Rivin (Temple University)
Oliver Bühler (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University)
Herbert Edelsbrunner (Duke University)
Shmuel Friedland (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Jan Kristensen (University of Oxford)
Wieslawa Niziol (University of Utah)
Steffen Rohde (University of Washington)
David P. Williamson (Cornell University)

Former BMS Substitute Professors

The BMS sponsored three BMS Substitute Professors, one at each university. These positions carried a regular teaching load, and thus partially replaced some of the BMS Faculty in their basic teaching duties so that these scientists were free to teach BMS Advanced Courses. These Substitute Professorships were generally offered to excellent young external researchers.


Frank Sottile (Texas A+M)
Alexandru Constantinescu (University of Genoa)
Carsten Lange (TUM)
Shagnik Das (FU)
David Ploog (FU Berlin)
Piotr Micek (Jagiellonian University)
Pavle Blagojevic (FU Berlin)
Sina Ober-Blöbaum (U Paderborn)
Mariel Sáez Trumper (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)
Jaroslaw Wisniewski (University of Warsaw)
Eugene Zhang (Oregon State University)
Bettina Keller (FU Berlin)
Omiros Papaspiliopoulos (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
Evgeny Materov (University of Massachusetts)
Sigrid Leyendecker (FU Berlin)
Anne Frühbis-Krüger (U Kaiserslautern)
Kai Hormann (U Clausthal)


Marc Kegel (Universiy of Cologne)
Thomas Krämer (U Heidelberg)
Angela Ortega (HU Berlin)
Tobias Schmidt (HU Berlin)
Elmar Große-Klönne (HU Berlin)
Roland Friedrich (HU Berlin)
Remke Kloosterman (HU Berlin)
Juan Carlos de Los Reyes (Escuela Politécnica Nacional, Quito)
Florin Belgun (U Leipzig)
Walter Gubler (U Tübingen)


Andreas Paffenholz (TU Darmstadt)
Adrián González Casanova (UNAM)
Bartosz Walczak (Jagiellonian University)
Alexei M. Kulik (Institute of Mathematics of NAS of Ukraine)
Boris Andreianov (Universite de Franche-Comte, Besancon)
Martin Weiser (ZIB Berlin)
Michael Joswig (TU Darmstadt)
Tobias Finis (U Düsseldorf)
Lars Grasedyck (RWTH Aachen)
Tim Hoffmann (TU München)